Review: Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Pur Couture Glossy Stain in Rose Vinyl

When I ventured on to find the perfect lip stain, I stumbled upon the YSL glossy stains. After reading through different reviews on youtube and online, one thing was for sure…these are heavily raved about. I decided to go and buy it from my local Sephora. One thing was surely established, these were amazing but not cheap. At $36 (CDN) a pop, you can have the perfect lip stain. I purchased the shade “Rose Vinyl (#15)”. It’s described as plummy, mauvey rosey pink. On me, it swatches as a mauvey bright pink…which is perfect a pop of colour for my skin tone. The way to use is this is interesting. On YSL’s website, it tells you to apply 3 coats to get the perfect “glossy stain” which is a shiny opaque colour. Personally, I layer it upon a lip pencil (Spice by MAC) and put about 2 coats. I love this product and I’m very glad I invested in it. YSL is a luxurious brand and you definitely can sense it when using this product. The best part about this is it has made one product in the place of two (rather than using a stain and then a gloss on top; you use one product to get the look). If you love lip stains, YSL and/or are looking for a new lippie definitely invest in one of these! You can buy them at Sephora, any YSL counter at a department store (The Hudson’s Bay, Nordstorms, Holt Renfrew, Saks 5th Ave). Happy shopping dolls! x

PROS

  • Opaque (after 2 coats)
  • Shiny finish
  • Smells nice
  • stays put; it rarely smudged and I didn’t need to re-apply until maybe 4-6 hours max
  • Goes on wet, then dries to a lacquer like finish
  • Absolutely LOVE the brush, it covers my lips like a glove! and the pointy tip is perfect for corners of lips and outlining your lip!

CONS

  • I don’t like that I have to use more than 1 coat; This is expensive, I don’t want to use a lot of product at one go
  • It remains sticky; though a stain it doesn’t come off but it leaves your lips feeling a bit sticky (which I can deal with)
  • It is expensive; but an investment

Rating: 9/10  (I deducted one mark because I don’t want to overuse a product)

ImageImage

Image Image

10 thoughts on “Review: Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Pur Couture Glossy Stain in Rose Vinyl

  1. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do
    you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thank you

  2. A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you should write more on this
    subject, it may not be a taboo subject but generally folks don’t speak about these subjects.
    To the next! Cheers!!

  3. Hey there! I’ve been reading your blog for some time
    now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

