Review: The Clarisonic Mia

The Clarisonic device is a big topic in the skin care world. So when I decided to go ahead and purchase this at Sephora (two years ago), I was a bit skeptical because the reviews were kind of mixed. I decided to buy the Mia because of its size and simplicity. The box came with a sensitive brush head (which is what I have repurchased numerous times), a universal plug-in charger, sample size cleanser, a how-to-use guide and the device. The usage of this device will vary from person to person. I went from using it twice daily to once 3 times a week because using it daily was drying my skin out. As you can tell, the usage is based on trial and error because not everyone’s skin is the same. This device uses the sonic pulse brush to gently clean out your pores of dirt and excess oil build up to leave you with smoother, softer and almost poreless looking skin. I’ve used this for 2 years now and I can say I’ve experienced all of what it has claimed to do. My skin felt dramatically amazing and my skin care routine has improved. Although, initially the first week of use resulted in a mini break out near my chin (which is supposedly normal because it’s cleaning out all the build up you’ve had); it all cleared by the 2nd week. I also haven’t used the cleanser it came with (I’ve been using the Clinique 3 step system). I love this device and I’m very glad that I invested in this. The sensitive brush head is perfect for my skin because it’s soft and it doesn’t “scrape” my skin. The only down side is that you will have to clean your brush head once a week and you will have to repurchase every 3 months. Other than that, this device is amazing. It has one setting (for a minute), which you allocate a certain amount of seconds to different areas of your face (which is written in the included pamphlet). At $145 (CDN), it is quite expensive but I seriously think this was totally worth it for me. It really has made a noticeable difference in my skin. You can buy this on their website, Macy’s, The Hudson’s Bay, & Sephora.

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Changed my skin dramatically for the better
  • Leaves skin soft and smooth by exfoliating dying skin and removing excess oil and dirt in the pores
  • Minimized the sizes of my pores a bit
  • Water proof device (you can use it in the bath and shower)
  • Comes with warranty
  • Universal charger (it’s magnetic too…quite nifty!)

Cons:

  • Price
  • Possibility of an initial break out (which will clear up)
  • Change brush every 3 months (which could get pricey)
  • Wash brush head once a week (to kill germs and clean out any leftover residue)

Rating: 8.5/10 (I’m not going to lie. I love this and I’m really glad I bought this because of what it has done for my skin’s health. It is very expensive because not only do you have to buy the device once, but you will have to buy brush heads every 3-4 months.)

IMG_0492IMG_0495IMG_0496

4 thoughts on “Review: The Clarisonic Mia

Leave a Reply

