Review: Yves Saint Laurent volume effet faux cils luxurious mascara

Mascaras are my weakness. Whenever I go makeup shopping, I always end up buying a new mascara to add to my ever-growing collection. Although, it’s not always the smartest idea to buy tons of mascaras at the same time because of their shelf life…I still get them! This was my first ever YSL mascara purchase and I was naturally impressed by this luxurious brand. I picked up YSL’s volume effet faux cils in black and boy was I mesmerized. This mascara gives my eyes the “flutter-my-eye-lashes-all-the-time” kind of a look/feel (If that even makes sense?). Everything about this mascara is luxurious. This is definitely a favourite and I find myself using this quite often. The best part about this mascara is its longevity. The brush is luxe and divine as well as non clumping. I’ve had this for a while now and the formula has not changed or dried. At $36 (CDN), it is definitely a pricey investment. If you have the budget and you love mascaras, then this is a must have for you. You will not only get your money’s worth but this makes your eye lashes feel fantastic. The only downside to this mascara is that if you apply this to your lower lashes, it has a possibility of smudging (now I haven’t tried the waterproof formula so I’m not sure if that is the reason why).  But in general, this lengthened and volumized my lashes without really clumping. It felt luxurious and really gave my eyes a confidence boost! You can purchase this at any YSL makeup counter, YSL retailers and Sephora.

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Lengthens
  • Volumizes
  • Strong pigmentation
  • Lasts long (both the formulation on lashes and in the tube)
  • Luxurious feel
  • Smells pretty
  • Brush is pretty decent

Cons:

  • Price
  • If applied on the lower lashes, it does smudge
  • Fragrance could be an issue for the sensitive

Rating: 8/10 (It is pricey but it is also YSL. It does a fantastic job for a volumizing mascara. I love this but I wish that it didn’t smudge on my lower lashes. If you are a mascara junkie, this is a must try!)

IMG_0548

IMG_0549

4 thoughts on “Review: Yves Saint Laurent volume effet faux cils luxurious mascara

  1. Awesome! I am not a big fan of mascara how I used to be. But I will vote for YSL. 🙂
    Keep up your good job !!!!

Leave a Reply

