Review: MAC Paint Pot in Groundwork

MAC makeup seems to by my weakness. I cannot go into a store without coming out with something and this how this purchase happened. I was in Boston and decided to venture into the makeup store. I had read various reviews and heard from friends about MAC’s paint pot and the miraculous stuff it does. I went into the store wanting to purchase Painterly, but ended up getting Groundwork. A paint pot is basically a highly pigmented cream eye shadow base, which can also be used as an eye shadow. It goes on creamy and dries to a powderish finish. It’s supposed to be long-wearing, non creasing and blends fantastically. I absolutely LOVE this product. The colour pay-off is amazing. It’s very pigmented and it didn’t crease on my semi oily eyelids. I tend to use this on it’s own and swipe a liquid liner on top (on days I don’t feel like really doing anything with my eyes). I also use this as a base for any brown smokey eye. It’s perfect. At $20(CDN), it’s a hefty amount for an eye shadow but the pot is pretty big and this is a really good product MAC has put out. I was never a fan of cream based eye shadow products and this is the only product that has changed my mind. This is one of the items I’d want with me if I was stranded on an island because of it’s versatility. You can purchase this at any MAC counters or store! Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Can be used alone or paired with other eye shadows
  • Blends easily
  • Really pigmented
  • Doesn’t dry out
  • Pretty big pot
  • Can be used as an eye shadow base
  • Doesn’t crease on oily lids
  • Satiny-finish

Con:

  • Price

Rating: 9.5/10 (I really love this product because of what it does for my everyday look. In fact, you will always find this item in my makeup bag, whenever I travel! This product does everything it claims to do and I cannot wait to purchase some of the other colours to compare and contrast)

IMG_0575

  IMG_0576IMG_0577

IMG_0579

8 thoughts on “Review: MAC Paint Pot in Groundwork

Leave a Reply

