Weekend Getaway Trip: What’s in my make up bag?

IMG_0634

Recently, I went on a short trip to New York and this is what I packed in my make up bag. I tried to pack versatile products that can be used for multiple things. Even though I overpack most times, this time around I tried to stick to basics. I’m a minimalist, so I don’t always wear heavy makeup everyday and tend to stick to a bb cream+lip balm+ eye liner combo.

  1. Forever 21 Classic Quilted Cosmetic Case: This is one of my favourite makeup bags because it’s adorable, classic and perfect size for a weekend trip!
  2. Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser in Honey: One of my holy grail items that goes every where with me (here’s my review).
  3. MAC Penultimate liquid eye liner in Rapid Black: This is something I can wear during the day and night which can be combined with a variety of eye looks (here’s my review).
  4. Smith’s Rosebud Salve: This lip balm is a sacred item in my life. Can’t leave my house without it (here’s my review)!
  5. Tarte Lip Surgence in Perky (Limited Edition): I got this in a Christmas set and decided to use this colour as it is a perfect pop of colour for spring!
  6. Tarte Amazonian Clay smooth operator finishing powder (travel size): This is an amazing setting powder. I love pairing this with my BB cream because it keeps oil on my face at bay, keeps my makeup looking fresh and it doesn’t dry my skin out!
  7. Maybelline Great Lash in Clear: This is perfect for taming eye brows and lashes.
  8. Makeup forever aqua eyes waterproof eyeliner in matte black (travel size): I love this for my waterline and often you will see me just wearing this with my BB cream!
  9. Maybelline dream bouncy blush in Peach Satin: This is the perfect blush that isn’t overpowering on my skin tone. Also, I use it on my eyes or lips if I want a pop of colour!
  10. Benefit They’re Real Mascara (travel size): UHM if you haven’t tried this, I highly recommend you do so. This makes my lashes look like I have false lashes on.
  11. Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream in Medium: Another holy grail item. This does everything for me and I have used this more than any foundation in my life!
  12. MAC Paint pot in Groundwork: I love wearing this on it’s own (paired with a liquid liner) on days I really don’t feel like doing anything! Plus, you can use this as a primer for eyes (when trying to convert a day-to-night look…here’s my review).
  13. Urban Decay Primer Potion in original (travel size): This product goes with me everywhere. This is my most used and trusted eye primer.
  14. Clinique 3 step: This is my current skin care routine!
  15. The Urban Decay Naked Palette: I’m sure everyone knows how awesome this palette is and that’s why this goes with me everywhere because you can create endless eye looks!
  16. Misc: Hair ties, make up brushes and cotton balls always make their way into my bag because you never know when you will need them!

Tips/suggestions: Pack only the stuff you need; try to plan your looks for the nights out in advance so you know exactly what you will use and take those items with you. If you’re a mood dependent make up wearer (like me), try to take versatile products that can create numerous simple and fancy looks. 

Happy make up packing dolls! x

2 thoughts on “Weekend Getaway Trip: What’s in my make up bag?

Leave a Reply

