Review: Hourglass Calligraphy Liquid Eye Liner in Ebony

I’m sure after my last liquid liner post, everyone is aware that this is one staple I cannot live without. So it only makes sense I try every and any liquid liner out there (yes that’s the reasoning I give behind my obsessiveness). It was only fitting I review this particular liner, which I received as a gift with purchase. The Hourglass calligraphy Liquid Eye liner in Ebony is a pretty decent liquid liner. Everyone is well aware that I can’t live without my MAC Penultimate liquid liner (here’s my review), so compared to that this is a good liner. I don’t see this as replacing my favourite any time soon. But, this was a pretty good product to try out. This liquid liner claims to moisturize your eyelids by being water and smudge proof. It’s designed like a precise felt-tip pen and the brush is fantastic. So did it live up to its claims? Yes, it did. It definitely is water/smudge/sweat proof and the felt tip brush is great. The liner stayed on perfectly until I used make up remover to remove it. The formula wasn’t streaky nor did it smear. It didn’t irritate my eyes or skin and my lids did feel a lot more moisturized (as if I had no liner on)! The colour is opaque enough for one coat, although I wish you could put more coats on. Which brings me to its only  (important for me) down side. You cannot really use more than one coat of this at a time because it tends to flake/fade off the first coat (which was a bit weird because the liner itself doesn’t smudge if left alone all day). At $37 (CDN), this is a pricey investment for a liquid liner. If you are a liquid liner junkie, then this is worth a try. But, if you aren’t and you are looking for a cheap alternative, then this isn’t the ideal liner to own. This is not to say that the product was horrible because it wasn’t. It’s a great product that lives up to all its claims and even with the down side, it still does most of what it claims to do. Also, I do think you can find a cheaper alternative that will probably could do a lot more. You can purchase this at Sephora.

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

 

Pros:

  • Conditions, keeps eye lids moisturized (formulated with Pearl Protein and a botanical blend of Chamomile, Aloe, Rosemary, and Perilla Extract to condition and nourish the eyes)
  • Opaque colour
  • Great Felt tip (perfect for creating both thin/thick lines)
  • Great staying power, doesn’t smear, smudge
  • Water/Sweat Proof
  • Doesn’t irritate eyes

Cons:

  • Price (there probably is a cheaper alternative)
  • You cannot use more than one coat, otherwise it tends to fade/flake

Rating: 8/10 (This is a pretty decent product from Hourglass. I deducted marks for the price and the fact that I couldn’t intensify the colour by putting on multiple coats without it flaking, but other than that this did everything else it claimed to do)

IMG_1086 IMG_1087 IMG_0996IMG_0997

2 thoughts on “Review: Hourglass Calligraphy Liquid Eye Liner in Ebony

Leave a Reply

