Review: The Body Shop’s Shea Body Scrub

IMG_1059

 

I am back with another The Body Shop product review (can you tell that this store is becoming an obsession for me? If you haven’t checked out my last review, click here). The Body Shop’s Shea Body Scrub is described as an oil-based scrub that reveals softer, glowing skin with exfoliating salt grains and organic sugar. This particular scrub is best for very dry skin. This scrub not only scrubs away dead skin cells on the surface of your skin but it also moisturizes your skin at the same time. It’s got Community Trade Shea butter which is filled with antioxidant vitamins A and E to help protect and nourish skin. It also has Community Trade organic soy oil, which is very rich in essential fatty acids that help to repair skin’s moisture barrier, so that your skin is smooth and supple. It also features Community Trade organic sugar and salt grains that gently exfoliate skin. You can use this up to 3 times a week for its maximum effect. The makers also claim that regular exfoliating and massaging can help tone and firm the skin. Now after reading through all these claims, I was blown away. Can an exfoliating product really do all of this? Well, yes and no. When I first tried this product, I wasn’t content because the product just seemed too oily. I took about a teaspoon amount and started scrubbing into my skin. I noticed that the sugar/salt grains dissolved so quickly that I felt as though I was applying an oil based body wash on my skin. This was not what I was expecting an exfoliator to do! BUT, after I washed off the ‘scrub’, my skin was instantly softer and way more moisturized than I ever imagined. I think I had this experience because my skin isn’t very dry and this product is geared towards that. The scent itself is okay and seems overpowering at times. The good thing about this product is that my skin was smoother, silkier, softer and moisturized after every time I used this product. The bad thing was that I didn’t feel like it was really exfoliating or scrubbing any dead skin cells off my skin. Would I recommend this product? Perhaps, only to those who have super dry skin. I, myself, don’t think I have very dry skin, but I do have dry patches and it did help moisturize those areas but if it’s a scrub I want, I want it to actually ‘scrub’ my skin (hopefully that makes sense). At $20, this product should’ve been magical and it really wasn’t for me. This product can be purchased at any The Body Shop stores or online.

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Gives you softer, smoother, silkier skin
  • Moisturizes the skin

Cons

  • Doesn’t really exfoliate
  • Sugar/salt grains dissolved within seconds
  • The smell was a bit too overpowering at times

Rating: 6.5/10 (I don’t know if I was just expecting too much from this product or what, but I was disappointed. I felt like there’s a lot of claims made here and only 1-2 things were true)

 

 

Leave a Reply

