Review: Clinique’s Almost Lipstick in Black Honey

IMG_2590IMG_2591

IMG_2592

Lipsticks are my weaknesses. Often, I find myself buying different lipsticks no matter what shade or brands they are. I can’t begin to explain to you how many I own (it’s slightly embarrassing because I probably have similar colours by different brands, but hey that’s the life of a makeup junkie…right?). Initially, I was a bit apprehensive to try this lipstick out. The bold colour in the tube scared me a little bit but I was pleasantly surprised when I swatched this. Clinique’s infamous Almost Lipstick in Black Honey is a cult favourite amongst lipstick lovers. Clinique describes this product as a glossy, ultra-light lipstick that isn’t really a gloss or a lipstick, hence the name “Almost Lipstick”. It’s a mixture between a tinted lip balm and a super moisturizing lipstick. It is semi sheer in opacity. The colour is meant to work with your own natural lip colour to create its own unique “black honey” colour. The colour, when swatched, is a dark raisin/berry/brownish colour. This lipstick glides on smoothly, can be layered or used on its own. It comes in a super sleek tube.

What was my verdict? Do I love it or hate it?

I absolutely L-O-V-E this lipstick for various reasons. Firstly, I love how it moisturizes my lips perfectly. I don’t need to put on any sort of lip balm underneath at all because the formula is so smooth. It also glides on my lips really well and I can build opacity to my desire. Secondly, the colour is gorgeous on my lips. I love the fact that this product gives me my own unique lipstick colour, since it’s meant to look different on everyone’s lips. In fact, I had my mom try this shade and the colour looked completely different on her compared to me. Don’t let the lipstick colour in the tube fool you. As you can see the swatches below, it’s sheer but buildable (but it’s not meant to give you an opaque colour). I find it gives me the perfect sheer dark lip (which is a bold trend for anyone to try and this product is perfect for beginners). Thirdly, I love that there’s no fragrance to this lipstick. Not that I have a major problem with fragrance on lipsticks, it’s just I like it better. The longevity on this product is like any other normal moisturizing lipstick. I did have to reapply at one point, but that was totally expected. At $19 (CDN), this product literally blew my mind. I underestimated this product immensely and to this day I haven’t found a similar product or dupe for this. I love the idea behind a lip product being “almost lipstick” because it’s perfect for daily wear and it’s a good way to try bold colours without getting the major bold colour effect (if you know what I mean). I highly recommend everyone to have this product in their makeup drawers. This colour is perfect for nights out or even during the day. You can purchase this at any Clinique counters!

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Paraben free, worked perfectly for my sensitive lips, fragrance free
  • Formula is moisturizing & glides on perfectly/smoothly
  • The colour is great, sheer, works with your natural lip colour to create its own unique “black honey” colour

Cons:

  • Longevity could be slightly better, but wasn’t a deal breaker for me

Rating: 9.5/10 (This unique Almost Lipstick colour has impressed me a lot. This is a must have for any lip product junkie!)

 

IMG_2593IMG_2594 IMG_2595IMG_2596

2 thoughts on “Review: Clinique’s Almost Lipstick in Black Honey

  1. Just looking at Black Honey in the tube didn’t move me at all, but the rave reviews told me otherwise. I see the appeal, especially once swatched. The color works universally. And I would’ve bought it, too, had the Clinique counter actually had the product in stock!

    1. I agree, initially I was mortified to even try a colour like that. Once I put it on my lips, I fell in love with the colour!! It looks so different and so polished! I hope you were able to purchase it! 🙂 Thanks for reading/commenting doll! x

Leave a Reply

