Review: Kat Von D’s Everlasting Love Liquid Lipstick in Backstage Bambi

IMG_2279IMG_2287

Bold lip colours are always tough to pull off. In order to make a bold lip colour work, I find that you require two major components: A colour that is not crazy but suits your skin tone and confidence (which can make any colour work in the end)! But with that being said, I know that it’s tough to come outside of your comfort zone to try a super bold lip colour (believe me, it took me a while to get there). This colour definitely was way outside what I like to wear. But this blog is all about trying new things, so I had to give it a whirl and I’m glad I did.

Kat Von D’s Everlasting Love Liquid Lipstick is a long wear, full-coverage liquid lipstick with a smooth matte finish. According to it’s makers, it’s an innovative formula infused with vitamins A, C, & E. Even though it’s a matte lipstick, the liquid formula is created in a way that it still hydrates your lips. This formula gives lips long-lasting wear and high pigment colour. It is also created without parabens. The colour Backstage Bambi is described as a vivid hot pink.

What was my verdict? Did I love it or hate it?  

Since I’m a lip product junkie, I tend to stick to certain brands because of experience and comfort. I had never really tried any sort of makeup from Kat Von D’s line, so I was very curious to see the outcome of using this product. Liquid lipsticks are usually either a hit or a miss with me. I find there’s really no in between, I either love it or I hate it. So as you can probably tell, I was very skeptical to try this at all because liquid matte lipsticks weren’t a concept that I was familiar with. I went in with no expectations from this product and after trying it for a long while, I came out wanting more! Firstly, the product’s formula is epic. It’s not completely drying, it keeps my lips moisturized (although I did have to apply a bit of lip balm midday), and it does not budge from your lips. Seriously, this product’s staying power is insane! I had to use makeup remover for it to come off. This lasted through food, drinks, & etc. The colour didn’t fade and it was still pigmented on my lips! Also, I found that it didn’t feel heavy on my lips. Secondly, the opacity of this product is incredible. One swipe is all you will need because the colour is extremely pigmented. Thirdly, the colour is gorgeous. Yes, it’s a super hot pink colour but sometimes you need to have fun with your makeup and go outside of the box. The colour is completely matte, which surprised me the most given it’s a liquid lipstick. This is great because you can layer with a lip gloss on top, which I tried and it looked great! Overall, this product was phenomenal and I loved it. I can’t wait to go into Sephora and try out some of the other colours and hopefully I will review them for you on here! These retail for $24 (CDN) and can be purchased at any Sephora store or on their website!

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Super opaque, high pigmentation
  • Super Long lasting, you need makeup remover to remove it
  • No fragrance, paraben free
  • Lips didn’t feel like it had any product on, was moisturizing until midday
  • Saturated colour, amazing formula, matte formula can be layered with a lip gloss on top without feeling heavy

Cons:

  • My lips felt a bit dry midday, so you will have to apply lip balm but not reapply the lipstick

Rating: 9/10 (I deducted a point only because halfway through the day I did have to apply a bit of lip balm because I felt my lips were dry but other than that this is an incredible liquid lipstick everyone should try!)

IMG_2289IMG_2291 IMG_2293IMG_2294

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Kat Von D’s Everlasting Love Liquid Lipstick in Backstage Bambi

Leave a Reply

