Review: Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine in Boy (#54)

IMG_2598 IMG_2602

Yes, it is true. Chanel lipsticks (no matter what type) are my biggest makeup weakness. These luxurious and brilliant lippies are one of my favourites because of its marvellous quality. Chanel, as a brand, always exceeds my expectations and nothing truly compares to a classic Chanel lipstick. So when I heard that Chanel was coming out with a lip balm inspired lipstick, I was excited. I find these types of lippies are perfect for trying bold colours and for everyday wear.

Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine lipsticks are a what I like to call a lipstick which feels like a tinted lip balm. The pigmentation of these products are anywhere from semi-sheer to sheer. This product is meant to drench your lips with moisture while providing you a semi sheer colour. The shade “Boy” (interesting name) is a light pale pink in colour. I found that this colour is the same shade as my lips but only better, which is perfect for wearing everyday and for nights out (the perfect nude for my lips).

My verdict? I like this lipstick because of its formula, colour and how it makes my lips feel. This lipstick drenches your lips with moisture. I didn’t need to apply a lip balm as a base at all. My lips in the long run felt a lot more softer. The colour is fantastic. Since it’s semi sheer, the colour isn’t opaque but it’s perfect enough to wear daily. The formula is fantastic. It feels buttery smooth, it smells like Chanel and it’s very satiny on my lips. It’s very lightweight and feels like you are wearing nothing on your lips. The finish of this product is shiny like a lip gloss.

The downsides? At a whopping $39 (CDN), the price is definitely hefty which can be a downside to most. The other downside is longevity of the lipstick. I found that I had to re-apply a lot more often than I really wanted. But those two downsides were a minor thing for me. I still adore this lipstick and can’t imagine my makeup drawer without it! This is a must have for any lipstick junkie or Chanel lover! You can purchase this at any Chanel counter or online!

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Smells like Chanel
  • Keeps lips super hydrated, made lips feel softer
  • Lightweight formula, doesn’t feel like you have anything on
  • Buttery smooth texture
  • Semi sheer in colour, perfect for daily wear

Cons:

  • Price
  • Had to reapply quite often

Rating: 8.5/10 (This is a great lipstick if you love Chanel lip products. The price and the lack of longevity is the reason behind the deduction)

 IMG_2604 IMG_2605 IMG_2606 IMG_2608

2 thoughts on “Review: Chanel’s Rouge Coco Shine in Boy (#54)

Leave a Reply

