Review: Benefit Cosmetics’ High Beam

IMG_2919

Benefit has slowly and steadily become one of my favourite cosmetics company to purchase products from. I find that they tend to offer quality products for a decent amount of money (you can’t go wrong there). This particular product I had tried years ago at a Sephora store and was intrigued by it. This liquid highlighter, which looks like a nail polish bottle, is a satiny pink coloured highlighter. This highlighter is meant to accent your cheek and brow bones as well as your cupid’s bow above your lips (trust me this is the best way to get the perfect pout when wearing a bold colour). This highlighter leaves a dewy, radiant glow without any sparkles and glitter for a subtle luminous glow. You can use this alone as a normal highlighter or you can mix this with your moisturizer for an all over soft natural glow (How cool is that?). Benefit markets this as a “supermodel in a bottle” which is perfect for all skin tones (and you know I had to give it a whirl when a product comes with a tag line like that).

My verdict?

I completely understand why Benefit calls this product their “supermodel in a bottle”. I am so in love with this highlighter that I often find myself using this product. Firstly, the packaging of this product is amazing. It looks like nail polish but is super simple to use. Secondly, it leaves the perfect highlight effect for my skin tone. I find that it instantly makes my face look brighter and glowy. I’ve mixed this with my daily moisturizer and the effect I got was amazing. I had an all over glow, just like this product claimed. Mostly, I use this product on top of my makeup to highlight and accent certain parts of my face. I found that when I highlighted the brow bone, I got an instant lift making my eyes looks more awake. As I mentioned earlier, this is my favourite highlighter to use on the cupid’s bow above my lip, when I use a bold lip colour. Seriously, I get the perfect doll-like pout! Also, If you swipe this down the bridge of your nose and contour with a bronzer, you will seriously get that “supermodel” look. This product also blends really well. It might go on pink but once you blend you are left with a subtle highlight perfect for all skin tones! Lastly, the price of this product in relation to the size of this product is amazing. For $32 (CDN), you really are getting a big sized bottle that will probably last you a while (I have had a sample size for a while now, which I haven’t been able finish and I use it often). All in all, this is one heck of an amazing product and it truly is a “Supermodel” in a bottle! If you’re a newbie to highlighters, this product is perfect for you. It’s easy to use and the concept is simple. Plus it doesn’t hurt that Benefit’s website is full of tips and tricks! This is one of my favourite highlighters and I cannot wait to purchase it again once I’m done. I can’t go to a night-time event without this product on! You can purchase this at any Benefit retailer (I got mine at Sephora) and/or online!

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Not glittery, shimmery
  • Sheeny Pink Satin colour, which disappears when you blend
  • Blends really well, leaves you with a fresh, dewy glowy finish!
  • Supermodel in a bottle

Cons:

  • None, but I can see the price being an issue for some…but think of it as a long-term investment!

Rating: 10/10 (One of the best highlighters I have ever used, if not the best one. I can’t imagine any major event without this product on my face!)

 

IMG_2920IMG_2921

14 thoughts on “Review: Benefit Cosmetics’ High Beam

    1. I love Watt’s Up! In fact, I sometimes have a hard time choosing between Watt’s Up and High beam, they’re both incredibly amazing yet different! Thanks for reading! I really appreciate it! 🙂 x

  1. Great post. Buying a highlighter is an investment, my high beam has lasted for ages and looks beautiful on my cheekbones and brow bones. Zoe, zoebeautyblog.com xx

      1. No worries, I enjoyed reading. Check out my blog if you get chance, I’d love to hear what you think. 😄 Have a great Christmas xx

Leave a Reply

