Review: Chanel’s Rouge Coco Hydrating Lip Colour in Paradis

IMG_3402IMG_3404

Chanel’s beauty products are a huge weakness point for me. I often find myself purchasing beauty products from this luxurious brand, even if I don’t need them (the life of a makeup addict). This well-known brand has been around for decades and with each product they release, the quality only gets better. With that being said, I was introduced to Chanel’s Rouge Coco Hydrating Lip colour when I was browsing through People’s Stylewatch magazine. It had Vanessa Paradis as its brand ambassador and the lip colour she had on was gorgeous, so I had to go in and swatch it for myself. The shade is called Paradis (which I believe is an ode to Vanessa). The shade is described as a pink coral and the finish is semi-opaque, almost like a frost with shimmer and sheen. According to Chanel, these lippies were created to pay an homage to the luxurious lifestyle of Coco Chanel. It’s a lightweight lip colour meant to hydrate, soften, soothe and condition your lips. Also, its formula has been created in a way that it boosts your lip’s ability to hold in moisture for a plumper, smoother and healthier looking appearance.

 My Verdict?

IMG_3406

This is my most used, most loved, and most cherished lipstick in my makeup drawer. Firstly, the colour is incredible for my skin tone. Even though it’s a pink coral, the colour is not too bright for me. It’s semi-opaque, that is probably the reason why this colour works on my skin tone. It’s got a little bit of shimmer and sheen but nothing too overbearing. If you see the swatches, the pigmentation is pretty decent. I find that I do have to swipe it across my lips twice to get the right amount of colour on there but either way it’s a beautiful colour. Secondly, the formula is incredible! The lipstick glides on like butter on toast for the easiest application ever. The claims are true. You get extremely moisturized lips and over the course of time you do feel like your lips’ condition is improving. Thirdly, it’s very lightweight and smells like Chanel. My lips didn’t feel heavy at all and it layers perfectly with a lip liner. Lastly, the longevity is something I wish that was a little bit better. It isn’t enough for me, personally, to write off this product. I don’t mind reapplying lipstick throughout the day/event. This product’s longevity was okay, you do have to reapply after a few hours, even if you have a lip liner on. Also, this is a luxurious brand, which means that the price is quite high for a lipstick ($39 CDN). All in all, I love this product. I haven’t found a colour like this in a long time. Also, the incredible formula is enough for me to keep repurchasing it! Buy this if you are on the look out for a nice pink coral hydrating lip colour! Think of it as an investment. You can purchase this at any Chanel counters or online (I purchased mine from the Hudson’s Bay).

 Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Great colour, shimmery/sheeny but not overbearing, semi opaque
  • Hydrates lips, keeps them smooth, soft and conditions them
  • Lightweight, smells like Chanel

Cons:

  • Price
  • Longevity (I had to re-apply a few times)

Rating: 8/10 (This is one of my favourite lipsticks because of the colour. Purchase this if you want a pretty pink coral lippie and for its hydrating benefits)

IMG_3408 IMG_3409IMG_3411

One thought on “Review: Chanel’s Rouge Coco Hydrating Lip Colour in Paradis

Leave a Reply

