Skin Care Diaries: The Clinique 3-step

IMG_4487

A few years ago, I was struggling to find the perfect skin care regiment. I had been switching back and forth between different skin care products without any sort of positive effect on my skin. It seemed like I had tried everything and anything yet I wasn’t completely happy with it. Products were either too greasy on my skin or not moisturizing enough, which resulted in dry flaky bits. So after a lot of research and countless googling, I decided to give the Clinique 3-step skin care regiment a try. I have been using this for the past few years and here are my thoughts about it!

What is it?

The Clinique 3-step skin care system is a skin care regiment that consists of cleansing, exfoliation and moisturizing. According to Clinique, these 3 basic steps work hand in hand together to help you achieve the best skin possible. So when I went to the Clinique counter, they asked me a series of questions to determine what type of skin I had. This is mainly because Clinique offers different products for different types of skin (types 1-4). After going through the questionnaire process, it was determined that I had combination oily skin. This meant that in Clinique’s dictionary of skin types, I was a number 3. I needed enough moisture in my skin without overdoing it. That is probably the reason why generic skin care products I was trying earlier weren’t really giving me any positive effects. You use the 3-step process once in the morning and once at night.

The 3-step process

Step 1: Cleansing

Since I have extremely sensitive skin, I decided to go with the milder version of the facial soap. Usually, with the type 3 skin type, they advise you to use the cleanser for oily skin but I opted for the milder version. Here’s my review on it. This is your basic cleansing step, where you use water and a cleanser to remove any dirt, oil, or makeup. This creates a clean surface for the next step!

IMG_3164

Step 2: Exfoliating

This step is where you use the toner to tone and remove any excess oil/imperfections from your skin as well as to prep your skin for the next step, so that your moisturizer seeps deep into your skin. Here’s my review on the Type 3 exfoliating toner. This particular toner has been created for combination oily skin types.

IMG_0990

Step 3: Moisturizer

This is a self-explanatory step. Since I have combination oily skin, I use the gel version of this moisturizer. This keeps my skin moisturized all day long without making it greasy. You can read my review here. This moisturizer is lightweight and perfect for using under makeup.

IMG_1778

My Verdict?

As I’ve said, I’ve used this for a couple of years now and I absolutely love it! This 3 step process changed my skin’s life for the better. My skin was softer, smoother, and just more alive after using this 3 step. I have tried other skin care products in between but nothing compares to this. If you haven’t tried this 3-step skin care regiment, I highly recommend you do so! Go into your Clinique counter and speak to the person there and they will walk you through it perfectly! I love that Clinique’s line offers products that are clinically tested, hypoallergenic and fragrance free! It’s also oil free which is a plus point for someone with my skin type. I barely get any dry or oily spots on my skin now, which I think is because I’ve been using this consistently for a while. Also, this regiment is perfect for using under any type of makeup. It’s the perfect skin care primer before makeup! If you’re out looking for a new skin care regiment, THIS IS IT!

Have A Great Day Dolls! x

2 thoughts on “Skin Care Diaries: The Clinique 3-step

Leave a Reply

