Makeup Diaries: Cleaning your Makeup Brushes 101

IMG_4545

For the past few years, I’ve been on the lookout to find the perfect way to clean my makeup brushes. It’s a very important thing to do because makeup brushes can be a breeding ground for germs and bacteria. With the constant use of makeup brushes, sometimes dirt, oil and left over makeup can get trapped amongst the bristles. This is a very hazardous thing for your skin because it can cause major breakouts, skin irritations and potentially ruin the longevity of your brushes. I try to clean my brushes at least once every week or every two weeks (depending on how much I use the brushes). Since I do have sensitive skin, I try to do it once a week. You can decide how often you want to clean them, depending on its use (but you definitely should clean it once a month, at least).

Trial and Error

I’ve tried everything and most of them have worked really well. But some of them haven’t worked one bit at all. I found that certain methods and ways make my brushes rougher than they were, which completely defeats the purpose of having my makeup brushes last longer. So I came across this method in a magazine and decided to give it a whirl. I was so impressed with this, that now this has become the only way I clean my brushes.

My Method

What you will need:

  1. 3 plastic cups
  2. 3 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (in a separate cup; this will condition your brushes for softness and break down any waterproof makeup)
  3. Normal Hand Soap (I use Soft Soap; this will make your brushes squeaky clean)
  4. Anti-bacterial Hand Soap (You can use only one soap, but I use two because this one adds a hint of fragrance to it as well as cleans the brushes more; I use Bath and Body Works’ foaming hand soaps)
  5. Soft Towel

IMG_4546 IMG_4547 IMG_4548

Instructions:

1) Take your 3 empty plastic cups and flip them upside down on your counter.

2) Take your brush that you are cleaning and dip the tip of the brush in the oil.

IMG_4549 IMG_4562

 

3) With the oil infused brush, gently rub in circular motions on top of one of the flipped over plastic cups.

IMG_4550

 

4) On top of the second cup that’s flipped over, put a little bit of soft soap. Take the brush that you just rubbed with oil and gently rub in circular motions with the soap on top of the flipped cup.

IMG_4551IMG_4564 IMG_4552

 

5) Now take that same brush and on the last upside down cup, put a little bit of anti-bacterial soap. Just like before, rub in circular motions. Make sure you do that super gently.

IMG_4553 IMG_4554 IMG_4565

 

6) Rinse with lukewarm water. You can either run it under the tap or you can fill a cup with water and rinse it that way. It’s up to you. I’ve used both methods and they work equally well.

IMG_4555 IMG_4557

 

7) On a towel, very gently rub in circular motions to take off any excess water. Set to dry.

IMG_4559 IMG_4560

 

This is my favourite method because it really gets every little bit of gunk off your makeup brushes. It also leaves the bristles soft, which is perfect for my sensitive skin. You can always modify this to your own needs. I’ve used a plastic plate instead of the cups before and it worked just as well. Hope this works as greatly for you as it does for me!

Happy Monday Dolls! x 

8 thoughts on “Makeup Diaries: Cleaning your Makeup Brushes 101

  1. Have you ever used alcohol? Just regular rubbing alcohol is what I use. Pour some in a cup, swish your brush around, dab on a towel & keep doing that until they’re clean. Then rinse with water & let them dry. Super easy & works great! Alcohol also kills germs.

    1. You know what I haven’t! I think I will try that this weekend and let you know how it goes! Thank you so very much for the tip! 🙂 Also, I really appreciate you reading this post!

  2. Thanks for helpful post. I’m super lazy with brush cleansing and I don’t know how to do it either. I once did it and I never do it again. I just simply rub the brush gently on my hand palm with soft soap and wash under the tap. Then, when I set it dry outside, there was a lot of dust stuck on the brush T.T The weather is annoying. I can’t have my brush 100% clean. Can I use hair dryer to make it dry faster without setting dry outside?

    1. I’ve done this numerous times too. In fact, I do this whenever I’m running low on time and I need to clean one or two brushes really quickly. I have used a hairdryer once to dry a brush and it seemed like my brush was a bit coarse. I guess if you do use a hair dryer to dry it, use it on your lowest heat setting and don’t put the nozzle to close to the brush! 🙂 Also, I really appreciate you reading this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

