Review: Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick in Hydrangea (825)

IMG_4411IMG_4410

A little while ago, I had shared with you a bunch of beauty products that I had purchased from Target and this was one of the products in there. I wanted to try these lipsticks because they looked pretty interesting. This lipstick, according to Revlon, is a revolutionary wax-free lipstick which uses a special gel technology. This special gel technology was created so that you get high-definition true colour with one smooth swipe of this lipstick. The shade I picked up is called Hydrangea, which is a shimmering bright coral pink/red (this is the best way to describe the shade).

My verdict?

IMG_4413

I was pretty excited to try this lipstick out because the colour looked gorgeous. I swatched it as soon as I got home from purchasing it and I genuinely really liked the colour. I’ve been trying this product out for a while now and as much as I love the colour, I can’t say that I am absolutely in love with this lipstick. I like it for what it’s supposed to do and I give Revlon a thumbs up for effort. With that being said, there are a few things that I do like about this lipstick. The colour is incredibly beautiful. It’s not overly shimmery, which is something I really like. There’s no fall out from the shimmer as well making this a pretty unique colour. It’s also very opaque. I found that with one swipe I got the colour I needed. Another thing I liked about this is it’s formula and longevity. I love gel lipsticks because of its longevity on the lips. This one stayed pretty long and I had to reapply it only once. The formula hugs your lips and doesn’t dry them out at all. The formula is pretty moisturizing. With that being said, there were some pretty major downsides of this product for me. I don’t like the packaging at all. The lipstick doesn’t swivel down all the way, which makes it a little hard to open the cover. I have to go super slow so that I avoid any contact made between the lipstick and the case. Another thing I dislike about this product is the fragrance. It’s got a weird cough syrupy scent to it, which does linger on your lips even after you apply it (which bothers me the most). Other than that, it’s still a decent drugstore lipstick. If you are a lipstick junkie, then this is definitely worth a try but only because the colour is incredible! You can purchase this at any drugstore for less than $12 (CDN).

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Pros:

  • Opaque & unique colour
  • Good longevity
  • Gel Lipstick formula keeps lips moisturized and doesn’t dry them out

Cons:

  • Packaging makes no sense
  • Strange cough syrupy fragrance

Rating: 7/10 (Honestly, these aren’t bad if you get past the cons but the fragrance is the worst for me)

 IMG_4414 IMG_4417

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick in Hydrangea (825)

Leave a Reply

