Life Diaries: Shopping 101

Yes, I’ve been MIA for what seems like forever. I can give a thousand legitimate excuses why (believe me, they really are legit) but that doesn’t change the fact that I’ve been slacking on blogging! But starting today, I’m back to the consistent posts. Also, if you aren’t already following me on my various social media accounts, then do so (Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest). 

Here are 5 very important tricks/tips that I keep in mind before I go on a shopping spree:

IMG_0250

  1. Sign up for Email/Mail Newsletters: This was my best discovery! Most stores will ask for an email or an address when you are making a purchase…take advantage of this! If they don’t, then visit the store’s website directly and sign up for their email subscription. It’s free and totally worth it because they will contact you when there are special sales and such. By doing this, I’ve always gotten updates on when certain stores have sales or have been mailed coupons for a certain percentage off a whole purchase (who doesn’t love a good sale?).
  2. Set a budget: I cannot stress how much this tip has changed my life! I like to think I’m a smart shopaholic. I do buy things in excess, I kid you not…but I buy based on needs…mostly. Before any shopping trip I try to set a maximum amount I want to spend (it varies depending on mood and the season) and I try to stick to it (most times it works, but there are those days…). The point of this is to mentally believe that you don’t have more money to spend on one go, so try to budget within that amount.
  3. Online Shopping: Who doesn’t love to shop in their PJs in the comfort of their home? Online shopping can be tricky and confusing the first few times around, but after that it’s easy and the best way to shop if you’re not into waiting in lines to pay for an item. Take advantage of free shipping and handling (you will know this when you do #1 on this list). Also, when online shopping make sure that you use a credit card with the lowest allowance amount (which is what I do because I’m paranoid of identity theft). This allows you to stay within budget. Most online stores are reliable and have great return policies so don’t be afraid to do some research before buying (that is exactly what I did).
  4. Just because it’s on sale doesn’t mean you HAVE to buy it: This was the hardest habit for me to budge. I used to be that girl who would buy stuff on sale and then years later I found myself donating everything I bought because I didn’t even wear them once! I tend to make a list at the beginning of each season of what I want to buy. When a sale arises, I cross check with my list to see if the items match..then I buy based on that. Although, I do break this rule time and time again…I’ve learned that I really don’t need to purchase things just because it’s 70% (usually it’s because shops want to get rid of old inventory). If you do buy something on sale, make sure to check the item for damages because most sale items are final sale! Also, make sure it’s an item you will wear more than twice a month, this way you aren’t unnecessarily buying things you don’t need.
  5. Invest in classic pieces that won’t ever go out of style: A trench coat, a jean jacket, a white T-shirt, amongst others will never go out of style. Sometimes, they can be very expensive, depending on the brand and make. Invest, invest, invest! Having classic pieces in your wardrobe allows you not to buy random outfits you will only wear once. It’s better to buy something you know you will wear numerous times for $100 vs something that is $5 and will go through the wear and tear process quicker. The whole point is to have an item last longer in your closet. Also, be practical…for example you don’t need 5 trench coats…you only need one.

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Leave a Reply

