Review: Kat Von D’s Studded Kiss Lipstick in Tijuana

IMG_1050

Woah! Look at me back with my first review of this year (okay, I’m clearly way too excited on this gloomy Monday). If you’ve been following this blog since day 1, then you already know that Kat Von D’s makeup line has quickly become one of my favourite brands. I’ve obsessed over her studded lipstick collection ever since it’s been out. This particular one was a new shade that I hadn’t seen in her collection line before, so of course I had to go ahead and pick it up to try it out.

What is it?

1780115_10153931280368503_9047348821911953528_o

Kat Von D’s Studded Kiss Lipstick in Tijuana is described as a vibrant Spanish red. It’s matte, it’s bold and it’s supposed to be long-lasting on your lips without drying them out. Like all of Kat Von D’s Studded lippies, this one is a hybrid lipstick formulated with Colour Cushion Technology (Say what? Basically, long-lasting wear+one swipe payoff+velvet touch comfort). It also has a light Crème Brule fragrance to it. It’s formulated without parabens, sulfates, & phthalates (if that’s something that’s uber important for you). Along with all that jazz, it’s formula is infused with vitamins A, C, & E. Not to mention that the casing of this lipstick is actually “studded”.

How long did I use it for?

Roughly two months and counting.

First Impressions & thoughts?

12525571_10153931280708503_4668757816435595928_o

As I mentioned earlier, when I saw the colour, I fell in love. I really hadn’t seen this kind of red being offered from Kat Von D before so I HAD to try it out. It’s not an orange-red but a bright vibrant red (does that description even make sense? Just look at the swatches and you’ll know what I’m saying). The first swipe on my lips was incredible. I got opaque colour without any fuss. Also, the colour seemed to light up my face! It also lasted pretty much the entire night until I took it off with my makeup eraser (shameless review plug).

My verdict?

First of all, the lipsticks in Kat Von D’s lipstick line are incredible. Tijuana did not disappoint me at all. Every single claim made (which you can read in the ‘What is it?’ heading) is completely true except for the part where it says “it won’t dry your lips out”. I tried it without lip balm and found that my lips felt like they were drying a tincy wincy bit (which was never the case with the previous shade I reviewed). BUT…when I layered it with a lip balm, it was the perfect red and formula for me. My lips were hydrated and the lipstick itself stayed on my lips all night long. I can see this being an issue for a few people but for me it was something minor, which kind of took a backseat because I was in love with the colour and how it looked on me. Also, can I mention that it smells delish?

Price & Where can you buy it?

$26 (CDN) at Sephora.

Would I repurchase it?

Most probably. Just because of the colour!

Pros:

  • Incredible colour payoff
  • Smells like vanilla
  • Gorgeous matte colour

Cons:

  • I recommend wearing a lip balm under it, just so your lips are a little hydrated.

Overall Rating: 8.5/10 (This really is a great lipstick! The reason why I deducted a point and a half was purely because you have to layer it with a lip balm for it to not dry out your lips. Otherwise, the colour pay off of this lippie is incredible!)

11731701_10153931279998503_5863391945528722689_o

Happy Shopping Dolls! x

Links

www.twitter.com/mizzdaffyzee

www.instagram.com/daffdiaries

www.pinterest.com/daffyzee

www.todayslovetomorrowsfate.tumblr.com

3 thoughts on “Review: Kat Von D’s Studded Kiss Lipstick in Tijuana

    1. Oh no! I didn’t know that! I’m sure Sephora will start carrying them in the UK soon! They really are great! Ps. Thanks for checking my blog out, I love yours! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

