Life Diaries: How to organize your life like a BAWS!!

IMG_1601

Step 1: Write down everything that needs to get done!

IMG_1603

Make a list of everything and anything that needs to get done (or anything that you need). This should be pretty obvious. When you make a list you are already on the road to becoming an organizational baws!

My tip: I make a list for each day, week and month (sayy whaa?). The best way to organize those lists? Invest in some tools that are going to help you become an A+ list maker!

IMG_1604

  1. Planners/Agendas: Dolls, you HAVE to know where you need to be and when! TIP: Colour coordinate or use post-it notes as reminders for any deadlines/meetings/work shifts/assignment due dates/credit card due dates (my favourite..obvs)/etc.
  2. Whiteboards/Bulletin Boards: This is perfect for a day-to-day list of tasks/things that need to get accomplished. Every night before bed, I make a list of 10 things I have to do for the next day.
  3. Notebooks/Stationery: Time to make that trip to Chapters…seriously have you seen their stationery section? That alone should want to make you become an organizational baws! As I mentioned, colour coordinating is key…so invest in pretty pens (that’s what I did). I have a notebook for everything (one for this blog, one for work, one for shopping…you get my OCD right?). Anything I have to do, or need to know goes to the matching notebook! That way whenever I need to cross reference anything on my list…it’s already written down! IMG_1618
  4. * Optional * Smartphone/iCal: This ones for all my techys. If you prefer everything to be digital then all the stuff I just stated above should be transferred onto your laptop! Yes, I do live on my phone all the time, but I’m a bit old school when it comes to making lists.

So what am I currently using?

IMG_1619(Agenda:Kate Spade, Notebook: Indigo & Target, Pencil Pouch: Clinique, multi coloured pens and trinkets: WalMart)

Step 2: Prioritize!

IMG_1605

Okay, you’ve got a list…multiple of them…now what? Start numbering off the tasks, in order of due dates. The quicker the task is due, the higher it should be on your priority list. This goes the same way for shopping lists. If you need something, then put that over the items you want (this is the hardest thing to do).

Tip: This is and has always been the hardest part for me because a lot of things in my life coincide and I’m forced to multi-task (which should only be done if you’re a master at it believe me). So be aware that you might have to multi-task sometimes.

Step 3: Set Deadlines

IMG_1607

DJ Khaled feels me on this one. This is the keys to success (yup I went there). Setting deadlines equates to managing your time better &…if you can manage your time better, then you’re already an organizational baws!

TIP: It’s all about having enough time to do the tasks at hand, so learn to maximize your time. Don’t sit around and do nothing, instead plan out what needs to get done! Do keep in mind, that sacrifices sometimes have to be made in this step. You might have to give up a Saturday night out to get a project done…OR if you’re a total pro, you will find a way to get that project done earlier so that you can go out.

Step 4: Plan & Execute!

IMG_1608

This is my favourite part. You have the list. You prioritized them. You checked your agenda and found the time. Now take that notebook (or laptop) and start planning! How will you accomplish said task/goal? What will you do? What needs to happen? WRITE THEM DOWN! There’s your plan. Now, follow through and execute!

Step 5: Cross it off your list like a baws!

IMG_1609

Am I the only person who thinks this is the most therapeutic part of being an organizational baws? All the feels you get when you cross something off that list is the best thing ever.

Step 6: Repeat!

IMG_1610

This is pretty self explanatory! On to the next task/thing/goal on your list!

IMG_1611

….but I will let you in on another secret. It’s easy to make lists, plans, and write down what you need to do. In order for any of this to work, there is one thing you really need…that’s MOTIVATION!

IMG_1612

BONUS: Step 7: How to be motivated to actually follow these steps!

IMG_1614

  1. You want that new Marc Jacobs purse? Then start crossing those tasks/goals off your list…and pronto! You see this is how I function most of the time. I like to give myself rewards/incentives for being able to finish something or accomplish something. The rewards can range from watching a movie to buying myself something (again that depends on how big the task/goal is that you’ve completed because I’d be super broke if I rewarded myself by going shopping for every task in life).
  2. The Quotes. I have a pinterest board dedicated to motivational quotes and I read them before anything I’m about to do (even before I go to work!). And I know what you’re thinking…reading a quote helps her? Has she finally gone psycho soprano (thumbs up if you know what I’m referencing)? But you’ll never know unless you try it! It works! Which is why a lot of my notebooks have motivational quotes on their covers.
  3. Positive thoughts & people are the best. These people won’t distract you but will rather motivate you to achieve your goals and complete your tasks! If you can’t find these people, then find someone who inspires you and use that.

And voila….you are now an organizational baws!

IMG_1615

 

5 thoughts on “Life Diaries: How to organize your life like a BAWS!!

  1. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I really hope to check out the same high-grade content from you in the future as well.

    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own website now 😉

Leave a Reply

