On Organizing & Planning

Hi dolls! If you haven’t read my previous post, then make sure you do right here. With 2016 coming to a close, I wanted to share with you how I organize my agenda/planner and what you can do to help yourself get more organized in 2017 (do I sense a resolution…). If you want to read a little bit about my favourite part about organizing, then you can do that right here.

fullsizeoutput_12

You’ll always see me with my agenda no matter what (well unless I’m going to a party or something). Finding the perfect agenda for you might depend on various different things. When you’re looking for an agenda or planner, look for things that will work for you and your life. Here are some things I look for when I’m purchasing one:

fullsizeoutput_15

  1. I love having a visual layout of the month, similar to a calendar. So it’s extremely important for me to have a 12 month planner.
  2. Along with having the visual layout of the month, I prefer to have a week by week layout. Here, I list important tasks/meetings/etc. This way I know right away what I’m doing.
  3. I love when they include quotes, anecdotes, etc. I find that they’re an instant pick-me-up when you’re stressed about putting things into you planner. The one pictured here, which I’ll be using for 2017, can be purchased at Kate Spade. It has a lovely quote at the beginning of each month telling you what that particular should be about (motivation feels).
  4. Having a pretty agenda is great but you what you need is an agenda that’s going to look different from any of your other notebooks. Polka dots, bright colours, stripes and sparkles are great choices!
  5. Size is important. Personally, I don’t like anything bigger than the one pictured here. I just find that it’s easy to grab and pile on with your other stuff. Plus it fits perfectly in your purse or work bag or even you car dash.

fullsizeoutput_16

Now that I’ve talked a little about what I use to organize, let me tell you about HOW I actually do it. Ready? It’s simple. Make sure you have a lot of coloured pens handy! I like to fill out my weekly planner/agenda/organizer on a Sunday night before I get ready for bed. This way I’m aware of all the tasks, meetings, lunches, birthdays, etc that I can expect in the upcoming week. Plus, I get a clear vision of what I must get done before the next Sunday.

  1. Important tasks like work, important dates, & holidays MUST be written in your weekly/monthly agenda. I love to colour code everything in my agenda, just so that there’s a quick way to distinguish things written down. I use a bright pink ballpoint pen to write these.
  2. Pay Day should be written in your agenda: I mean you need to know when you can go on your shopping spree er…pay your credit cards (guilty of it all). I like to put these important dates in red because clearly I’m paranoid I’ll miss them or something.
  3. Lunches, Dinners, birthdays are necessary if you’re forgetful: I don’t always put these in my agenda because I rely on my handy dandy smartphone but if you tend to forget these things, add them there too!
  4. I use a pencil to write things that are subject to change. This can pretty much apply to anything and everything that isn’t set in stone in your schedule.
  5. Tasks which need to be completed by that day need to be put in your agenda too. This is a mere blueprint for what you want to do for that day. Life adds on different things all the time, but the things you write down are what you should finish.
  6. On the Sunday, look at the previous week and see tasks which were not complete. Add those to the following Monday, as they’re probably important tasks you should finish ASAP.

fullsizeoutput_17

If you follow these tips/tricks or even modify them to make them your own, I guarantee that you will become more organized. You will stop forgetting about tasks that should be completed or your significant other’s birthday (kay, don’t ever do that). So now that you’ve written and colour coded your agenda…what’s next you might ask? WELL. Let me paint a picture for you. You don’t want to just talk to talk right? YOU NEED TO FOLLOW THROUGH! Start crossing off those things in your agenda as you accomplish them! Believe in yourself and get yourself organized!

Hope this little post gave you some insight into how I organize my agenda!

As always, see you in the next post!

kisses,

S

44 thoughts on “On Organizing & Planning

  1. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that will make the most significant
    changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  2. I’m really impressed with your writing skills
    and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid
    theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the
    excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like
    this one nowadays.

  3. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and
    I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  4. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information on your page.
    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Helloo there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I’ll definitely dibg it and individually recommend to my
    friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this site.

  5. This is my very first time to visit here. I found so many
    entertaining stuff in your weblog, especially in its discussion.
    I guess I am not the only one having all the entertainment here!

    Keep up the superb work.

  6. Hey there fantastic blog! Does running a blog like this take a massive amount work?

    I have no knowledge of computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways,
    if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please
    share. I understand this is off subject but I
    simply needed to ask. Appreciate it!

  7. I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed a piece of writing as much
    as this one. You have gone beyond my expectations on this subject and I
    agree with your points. You’ve done well with this.

  8. Great tips! I love the great quotes/inspiration at the beginning of the month, it’s a great way to get inspired. A good planner makes all the difference in a successful life, it’s such a great tool. 🙂

  9. I appreciate the effort and time you put into your website and in depth information you provide.
    It’s very good to run into a blog every every now and then that isn’t
    similar with other materials. Outstanding post! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my
    Google account.

  10. Right here is the perfect webpage for anybody who would
    like to understand this topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you
    (not that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that has been discussed for years.
    Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  11. Hey There. I found your blog making use of msn. This is a perfectly written post.
    I will be sure to bookmark it as well as return to read more of
    your beneficial information. Many thanks for the post.
    I will definitely return.

  12. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit
    familiar of this your broadcast offered vivid transparent concept

  13. Ahaa, its fastidious conversation on the topic of this piece
    of writing here at this webpage, I have read all that,
    so now me also commenting at this place.

Leave a Reply

