Review: Kat Von D’s Shade+Light Contour Palette

Hello Dolls! If you haven’t checked out my previous post, then you can do so by clicking right here. As always, make sure to follow me on all my socials by simply searching Daff Diaries or clicking the links on the right hand side of this page! So without further adieu, I give you my review on this raved about palette!

dsc02440

First Impressions

If you’ve been an avid reader of this blog, then you’re already aware of the fact that Kat Von D makes some seriously amazing beauty products (hello, this one’s my all time fav). So, it was only natural that I would want to try this beauty line’s contour palette…especially, given that contouring is and always will be a beauty trend no matter what (thank you Kardashians). When I first saw this palette and swatched it, I fell in love with the fact that both the “shades” and “lights” were matte. The “shades” are the equivalent to the darker contour shades and the “lights” are the matte highlight shades (ain’t that cute?). Also, I love that she includes a How-to-guide in this packaging for newbies like me (bonus). Overall, I was very very VERY impressed when I first saw and tried this product. The names of these shades are pretty Kat Von D like (if you’re familiar with her products). One of my favourite things I noticed was the fact that all the colours in here were natural looking.

dsc02441dsc02442

Product Application & Formula

fullsizeoutput_1b

The formula has to be one of the best I have ever used, especially for a powder. Seriously, it feels smooth and it’s super easy to blend. You can use a Beauty Blender or a brush and this looks flawless on your skin. One of the biggest pros of this product is the fact that it’s universally flattering for all skin tones. In fact, all the colours included in this palette will work with any skin tone because they’re natural looking shades (depending when the light hits you where). It’s easy to use and I found that I could combine the shades together without it looking cakey on my skin (woohoo). Theyre super buildable and it doesn’t irritate your skin! The best part about this product is that you don’t need a lot of it and it swatches incredibly well (scroll below). Every single shade is extremely opaque and gorgeous!  Along with being the perfect formula, the packaging is also nice. It’s got a ginormous mirror and the size is not super big, so you can travel with it.

Product Formula: 10/10

Product Application: 10/10

Swatches

Can you say GORGEOUS?

fullsizeoutput_1e

Price, Availability & Accessibility

You can pick yours up at Sephora for $55 (CDN).

Final Verdict

This has to be one of my most used contour palettes ever. It’s easy to use. It looks extremely natural and never cakey. It’s worth every single dime and I’m convinced that I will be repurchasing this product once I hit pan! The palette isn’t intimidating at all for newbies. You can use and combine these shades to get the perfect contour!

Overall Rating: 10/10

See you in the next post!

kisses,

S

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Kat Von D’s Shade+Light Contour Palette

Leave a Reply

