Review: Smashbox Cover Shot Eye Palette in Smoky

Hello Dolls! Hope you’re all doing great! I’ve got a few things for you in this post. Obviously, this is a review…duh! BUT I’ve also got a corresponding swatch video for you as well (you can click here, if that’s all you want to see). So without further adieu, let’s get in!

First Impressions

DSC02704

When I heard that Shay Mitchell was teaming up with Smashbox to be the face of their new cover shot eyeshadow palette line, I was excited! Although, I’m sad that all these colours aren’t in ONE big palette, I’m still glad they’ve released them based on different eye trends out there. I obviously wanted to purchase the Smoky palette because I have an unhealthy obsession with jewel toned shadows. I know I say this about most things I love but I genuinely fell in love at first swatch! These babies were smooth and pigmented so I couldn’t say no!

Product Application and Formula

DSC02880

If I could describe this palette in one word then it would definitely be PIGMENTED. I can’t explain to you, actually I can…when you look at the swatches, how gorgeous these shades come off! The formula is buttery smooth and it blends into one another flawlessly. I love that it has two matte basic shades in this palette. It’s not super powdery and it’s just perfect. The quality of these shadows are impeccable! The smoky palette includes everything you need to create the perfect smoky eye. I also LOVE that it has some shimmery shades, given glitter is the IT thing right now. With an amazing eye shadow primer, these shades stayed on my eyes the whole night and came off only when I used makeup remover. I will say that there was a tiny bit of fall out BUT I’m willing to let it slide because the shades are so perfectly curated and they complement each other so well.

Rating: 9.5/10

Swatches and Packaging 

I think this video speaks for itself don’t you think? BUT if you insist, I’ve also included photo swatches and a little bit about each shade here.

DSC02892DSC02893

  • The two big matte shades in this palette are Feature (matte milk chocolate) and Instinct (matte cream). These can be used as bases, highlights for your brows and even as a crease blending shade
  • Headline is a shimmery maroon. Hell Ya is a metallic brown and Rock Me is a metallic silver.
  • STFU is a shimmery green and probably one of my favourite shades smashbox has put out. Slayer is s matte slate grey colour and Big Night is a black with shimmery glitter.
  • The packaging is literally one of my favourites because it’s sleek, easy to carry and has a big mirror. Also, the holographic cover is literally one of the coolest covers I’ve seen!

Rating: 10/10

Price: $35 (CDN) and you can purchase it at any Smashbox retailer, I got mine at Sephora.

Final Verdict

Do I think you need this palette in your life? YES. Do I think you can achieve the easiest most gorgeous smoky eye with this palette? YES YES. Is the price incredibly reasonable? YES YES YES! Honestly, this is easily one of my favourite launches from Smashbox! If you want these gorgeous shades, I suggest you head on over and purchase this palette ASAP!

Overall Rating: 10/10

See you in the next post!

kisses,

S

 

Leave a Reply

