Organizing Your Makeup 101

DSC02901

Hello Dolls! Hope you’re having a wonderful day! If you haven’t read my previous post, then you can do so by clicking right here. If you know me personally, then you’re already aware of my OCD-like obsession with being organized no matter what. In fact, I’ve blogged about this on many occasions (post 1, post 2). While going through probably the worst writer’s block of my lifetime (yes, this includes my uni days where writing about Aristotle seemed a lot easier than what I’ve been experiencing lately), I realized I have never shared with you how I organize my makeup! So without further adieu, here are some tips on how you can organize ALL your makeup!

DSC02898

  1. Categorize: This is probably the most important factor of organizing just about anything and everything in your life…including makeup. What I like to do is keep all my foundations together, all my blushes together, all my eye shadows together, etc (you catch my drift yet?). This is essential because you want to be able to find your fav makeup item ASAP. Also, I categorize my makeup brushes according to that rule too.
  2. Once you’ve categorized, one of the most important part of organizing is finding a space to put them: I mean you can buy different organizing tools (as you can see I have one devoted to all my MAC lipsticks) or you can create your own. The possibilities are endless and you can get as creative as you want (hello DIY). I have a drawer devoted to just foundations, concealers and setting powders. The reason why I grouped them like that is because I combine those 3 products at the same time, so why not have them altogether in one place?
  3. In doing steps 1 and 2, you’ll come across old makeup or makeup you haven’t used (believe me these things expire quicker than you think and you don’t want to put stuff like that on your skin). One of the most important things you can do is, let it go, let it go! Okay, I am obviously too obsessed with Disney…but GET RID OF IT: You do not need makeup you haven’t used in more than a year because…you haven’t used it. It’s simple as that. Chances are you won’t use it again so why bother. This has always been the hardest thing for me to do but you know what? YOLO.
  4. So you’ve categorized, made space for those categories, gotten rid of things you don’t need…now what? PUT THEM IN THE SPACE: This is probably my favourite part because you can be SUPER creative and very Instagram worthy, but you have to do it correctly. Add dividers in your drawers. Add trays to your makeup desk, make it pretty as you like or as simple as you want…it’s up to you!

DSC02900

And VOILA! You’ve now organized everything makeup related in your life…on to your closet…lolz.

Until next time,

kisses,

S

ps. WHY AREN’T YOU FOLLOWING ME ON INSTAGRAM? @DAFFDIARIES is where it’s at~

Leave a Reply

