Review: Benefit Cosmetics Hoola Quickie Contour Stick

DSC04360

So if you read my post last month, then you already know how excited I have been to try Benefit’s Hoola Quickie contour stick. Seriously, I am not by any means an expert at contouring. In fact, I still don’t understand how it works. I won’t lie though, I have tried it out at different events because of this very product but I’ve never really been able to master it…until I tried THIS product.

DSC04369

Benefit’s Hoola bronzer is a cult favourite. Anyone and everyone that knows anything about makeup has heard of that particular bronzer. When they decided to come out with a cream-stick version of it, I was beyond excited to try it. It’s a cream-to-powder formula which means that it goes on like a cream and it dries as a powder. Since it’s in a form of a stick, you just have to line the areas you’re trying to contour (hence the quickie part of the name) and blend either using your fingers, a brush or the Beauty Blender.

DSC04371

This soft matte bronzer has been one of my favourite products to try. I have to say when I tried this to contour my cheekbones, nose and jaw line…it worked like a charm. Never has a contour looked so natural in my life. It’s super bendable and the packaging is super cute. There’s no fragrance to it and I loved how easy it was to use. You can definitely build up the formula and layer with other products, if you’re looking to look super sculpted.

DSC04373

However, there is ONE slight issue. In a world where there are tons of different skin tones, I can’t see this working for my dolls that have a darker skin tone. In fact, it doesn’t really show up A LOT on my skin, unless I layer or build. But I like to use this for a natural looking contour, so it works out in my case. Although, I will mention…when I wanted to see if this can give me that Kardashian look, I found I was using a lot more product than any of my other bronzer/contour powder.

With everything being said, I do think this is a really good product Benefit has put out. Those who love the original boxed powders are going to absolutely love this because it’s easy to use, looks very natural and it’s very easy to build. Plus, it looks SO cute on your makeup counter. This product retails for $38 (CDN) at any Benefit counter!

Pros:

  • Cream stick dries to a powder
  • Doesn’t irritate skin
  • Soft Matte bronzer/contour, doesn’t look shiny
  • Buildable and blends really easy

Cons:

  • Shade might be a little to light for darker skin tones
  • You do end up using a lot of product if you have mid range skin tone

Rating: 8.5/10

 

21 thoughts on “Review: Benefit Cosmetics Hoola Quickie Contour Stick

  1. Wonderful work! This is the kind of information that are meant to be shared around the internet. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this put up higher! Come on over and seek advice from my website . Thank you =)

  2. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. Admiring the commitment you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. I’m amazed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which too few people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I found this during my hunt for something regarding this.

  6. Hi outstanding website! Does running a blog like this take a large amount of work? I have no knowledge of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic but I just needed to ask. Many thanks!

  7. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist other customers like its aided me. Good job.

  8. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day. It’s always helpful to read articles from other writers and practice something from other web sites.

  9. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  10. Thank you, I have just been looking for information approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?

  11. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing issues with your RSS. I don’t understand why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody having the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

