How I Get Ready For A South Asian Wedding Event

giphy8

I open my closet and start pulling out outfits that make me look like Priyanka Chopra in my head…cuz you know ain’t nobody like a desi girl.

giphy

It’s time to game plan. There are different types of outfits one can wear when going to a South Asian wedding event. If I know the bride/groom personally, then you best know that I’ll be rocking that lehenga or glitzy saree. If I’m a plus one for my parents (yes, it’s a thing), then I’ll taper the look down in a kameez or a glam saree.

giphy6

Once I’ve chosen at least 3 outfits as options, I’m going to start taking MySpace-esque mirror selfies to see which one looks the bombdotcom…because….hello Instagram?

giphy1

…and I’ll send them to my most trusted squad members….because the squad has to approve right? Also, they’ll most likely tell me if I’m too scandalous #noscandalizedauntieszone

giphy10

Outfit done. Time to get my makeup on. Popular to contrary belief, I rarely know what makeup look I’m going for. Almost always, I’ll pick the lipstick I want to use and base my whole look around that.

giphy2

Daaang, makeup did. Now to get my hair did…cue the Beyonce playlist now…#feelingmyself.

giphy3

Hair did. Face beat. Now for the bling. For me, it’s all about the glitz…because I’m that extra.

giphy4

Time to Instagram…it’s about that #OOTD life.

giphy5

And now I’m ready to get into the car and head to the event! Peace out! See you in the next post! x

giphy7

Leave a Reply

